A Royal Visit to Victory Street by Pam Howes

I’m so delighted to be part of the tour today for this gorgeous book. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Book Description:

From Amazon charts bestseller Pam Howes comes an emotional and uplifting saga about the power of family and a community trying to rebuild their lives after the terrible war that nearly destroyed everything…

1956, Liverpool. With the shadow of the war looming over them and bomb craters littering the surrounding streets, hope feels far away for the residents of Victory Street. When they learn that the Queen has chosen to visit them on a tour of Liverpool, the delighted neighbours bring back the wartime spirit. Can they possibly get the street ready in time?

Even a royal visit cannot take away Bella Harrison’s worries. Her son, fourteen-year-old Levi, has just told her he wants to move to America to join the rest of his father’s family. The news has so shocked Bella that she’s not sure she’ll be able to sing for the Queen, jeopardising all their plans for the big day.

Life has been hard for Levi, growing up as a mixed-race boy in Liverpool, but he’s the light of Bella’s life. The thought of losing him brings back the terrible memories of her father and sister dying during the war. If everyone pulls together to make the Queen’s visit an unforgettable celebration, perhaps she can persuade Levi that Victory Street is where he belongs.

But when Levi receives heartbreaking news from America and his move becomes uncertain, Bella starts to wonder if all her efforts to keep him in Liverpool have been for the right reasons. Can Bella find it in herself to sing for the big celebration, and make the right choice for her beloved son?

A totally unputdownable, heart-wrenching historical novel, packed with family secrets, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Diney Costeloe and Nancy Revell.

My Review:

I have been a fan of this series right from the start and I’m so glad that it continued on after the war era. It was wonderful to be reunited with all my favourite characters again and to see how their lives are progressing.

The characters in this book are so well developed and it’s so easy to be drawn into the story and feel as though you know them all. Like every family, they have evolved and grown and as the series progresses children grow up and become the next generation. Levi is now fourteen years old and trying to decide on his future at a time of great change.

I could almost feel the excitement of the build up to the Royal visit in the book, and could picture the wonderful day that they all experienced. It was especially poignant and special given the recent passing of the Queen.

I found the historical element of this book fascinating, seen as it is through the lives of ordinary people, in their daily lives, their fashion and their music.

The themes of family, community and friendship are very strong in this book, but it’s very realistic with sensitive subjects tackled in a very compassionate way.

I was just totally absorbed in this book and felt myself transported into their stories. I found myself engrossed for many a pleasant hour in this gorgeous read.

If you haven’t read any of this series yet I can’t recommend it enough. This book can be read as a standalone, but I’d really advise you to treat yourself and binge-read the whole series, you’ll be in for a treat.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Author Bio:

Pam Howes is a retired interior designer, mum to three daughters, grandma to seven assorted grandchildren and roadie to her musician partner.

The inspiration for Pam’s first novel came from her teenage years, working in a record store, and hanging around with musicians who frequented the business. The first novel evolved into a series about a fictional band, The Raiders. She is a fan of sixties music and it’s this love that compelled her to begin writing.

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100041354393134

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Pam Howes here: https://www.bookouture.com/pam-howes

Buy Link:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B0B7PKHJ8Vsocial

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: