The Foster Family by Nicole Trope

I’m delighted to be part of the tour today for this superb book. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

In their holiday home, a stone’s throw from the beach, Elizabeth dials the police with trembling hands. ‘My little boy, he’s missing.’

Elizabeth is Joe’s foster mother, but she loves him like her own. The five-year-old, who adores superheroes and watching the birds outside, is the child she has dreamed of. As she looks into the garden, where he was playing just moments ago, her heart feels like it has been ripped from her chest.

She was meant to save Joe from his birth mother who almost harmed his chances at life. The woman who has been trying to desperately get him back.

She was meant to protect Joe from her husband. The man who, right now, lies to the police, saying he was making breakfast when Joe disappeared. Who squeezes her shoulder, ordering her to be quiet.

She was meant to look after Joe. They are just footsteps from the ocean, and little Joe can’t swim.

Then Joe’s tiny blue sandal is found in the water. If the worst has happened – the unimaginable – Elizabeth will never forgive herself. Because what if the secret she has been keeping for years, the guilt eating her alive, has somehow hurt her little boy?

It’s time to tell the truth – even if it means losing the child who is her whole world. Even if it could be the death of her.

A totally addictive, twist-packed psychological thriller about family secrets, a marriage on the edge, and the deadly line between love and hate. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Liane Moriarty and Freida McFadden.

My Review

What an amazing book this is. It’s so much more than just a thriller, it’s a gritty and sometimes shocking read, but it’s also emotional and touching.

I really liked Elizabeth and of course, Joe, but I think my favourite character was Gordon, the old man across the road who had such a lovely caring nature.

The story is told from multiple points of view and when the strands of the plot all begin to come together it all makes perfect sense and there were several characters who I really wanted to be ok. There’s a rising tension and suspense as we near the end of the story and I really couldn’t put it down at this stage.

This is one of those books that completely drew me in, and I almost felt as though I was watching a movie rather than reading a book. It was so clearly depicted that I could visualise everything in my mind.

While I raced through this book, needing to know what happened next, I was also reluctant for it all to end, because I was so engrossed in it.

A really superb book, this one will stay with me for some time to come. Highly recommended.

My Rating

Rating: 5 out of 5.

About the author

Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because-as her professor pointed out- ‘It’s not meant to be a story.’ She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters’ degree in Children’s Literature.

The idea for her first published novel, The Boy under the Table, was so scary that it took a year for her to find the courage to write the emotional story. She went on to publish a further five novels in Australia before joining Bookouture in 2019. She is a USA Today and Amazon bestseller in the USA, UK, AUS and CAN.

She lives in Sydney with her husband and three children.

Author social media

Facebook: @NicoleTrope

Twitter: @nicoletrope

Author email sign up: https://www.bookouture.com/nicole-trope

Buy links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B0B61KQW53social

Apple: https://geo.itunes.apple.com/us/book/the-foster-family/id6443122765?itsct=books_toolbox&itscg=30200&at=1010lnPy&ct=B0B61KQW53-social-media-&ls=1    

Kobo: https://www.kobobooks.com/search/search.html?q=9781803144795

Google: https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=Ot15EAAAQBAJ

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: