The Nanny by Ruth Heald

I’m so delighted to tell you about this gripping book today. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

As I clutched baby Chloe’s blanket, tears streamed down my face as I remembered what happened the night she disappeared. Looking up at the apartment block I once called home, my mind was crowded with memories. David’s words echoed in my head, telling me to get out and never come back. I understood why: our mistake had ruined everything.

When I accepted a job working as a nanny for David and Julie and their young children, I was excited to be making my own way in the world. I bonded with baby Chloe instantly and would have done anything for her. She had David’s thick, dark hair and smiling eyes. I fell in love with her and was excited for my future.

But when a terrible mistake led to Chloe disappearing, I was instantly blamed. With no evidence, I was let go and I returned home to rebuild my life.

Twenty years later and I am still haunted by what happened. I have a family of my own now and I’ve worked hard to be the best wife and mother I can be, but I’ve never forgotten the child who stole my heart.

Then a young woman arrives on my doorstep and the past secret that I have kept from my family comes hurtling into my present.

I try to tell myself that I am overreacting. But the woman in front of me looks so much like David. Who is she and why is she here? And if I welcome her in, will she want to be a part of my life, or destroy it?

A totally addictive psychological thriller that will have you reading late into the night. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, T.M. Logan and Shalini Boland.

BUY LINK: https://geni.us/B0B2PKMYSBsocial

My Review:

Somehow, I only recently managed to discover Ruth Heald’s books, and I knew straight away that I had found a new favourite author.

This latest novel is superb. I found myself totally drawn into it, and I just couldn’t stop reading it.

The story has a dual timeline, and goes between the events of 1999 in Thailand, and the present day. I really liked Hayley as a character, and I was really intrigued as to what might have happened to baby Chloe. Hayley didn’t strike me as a character who would intentionally harm Chloe, who she was really fond of.

As the story unfolds there seem to be multiple potential scenarios and so many people keeping secrets. I was really struck at how, when Hayley recalls her time in Thailand, she was so young and couldn’t even see how badly she was being treated. David and Julie were really taking advantage of her. When the plot all comes together at the end, it all makes perfect sense.

Really cleverly plotted, with enough twists, turns and secrets to keep you riveted, this psychological thriller is a must-read.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Author Bio:

Ruth Heald is the bestselling author of psychological thrillers THE WEDDING, I KNOW YOUR SECRET, THE MOTHER’S MISTAKE and THE WOMAN UPSTAIRS, and the relationship drama 27: SIX FRIENDS, ONE YEAR.

Ruth studied Economics at Oxford University and then worked in an eclectic mix of sectors from nuclear decommissioning to management consulting. She worked at the BBC for nine years before leaving to write full time. Ruth is fascinated by psychology and finding out what drives people to violence, destruction and revenge. She’s married with two children and her novels explore our greatest fears in otherwise ordinary, domestic lives.

You can connect with Ruth on Twitter @RJ_Heald, or Facebook /RJHealdauthor

Author social media:

Twitter: @RJ_Heald

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rjhealdauthor/

Instagram: @ruthheald

Website: https://ruthheald.com/

Author newsletter sign up: https://www.bookouture.com/ruth-heald

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: