The Locked Away Life by Drew Davies

I’m delighted to tell you about this beautiful book today. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Book Description:

At the grand old age of eighty-two, Esther Saul has just one regret in life. Today, she’s going to change that.

For decades, Esther has barricaded herself in her vine-covered manor house. She spends her days tending to her rose-filled garden, glued to the pages of her favourite books, and listening to her beloved records. But, one spring morning, Esther wakes up and realises that time is running out.

Forty years ago, the love of her life betrayed her – the only man she allowed herself to trust. Where is Thackeray, the handsome Scot with a devilish smile and piercing blue eyes? Will she ever learn the truth? Will she ever understand why he lied to her? Esther has to find out. If she doesn’t act soon, her one regret will haunt her forever…

But she’ll need some assistance. That’s where Bruno comes in. After Esther places an advert in the local library, seeking internet lessons, the eighteen-year-old knocks on her door. Esther can see how out of place Bruno is in their sleepy village, and that the paid position could be his one-way ticket out of there.

An unexpected friendship forms between the two strangers, who have nothing in common except that they have spent most of their lives in hiding. It’s the beginning of a journey – featuring a secret motorcycle ride, an escape plan, and a garden party with whisky, apple pie, and dancing the jig. Along the way, can a locked-away life finally start living?

Just as heartbreaking as it is heartwarming, this utterly gripping page-turner is for anyone who has ever felt left behind, came close to giving up, or needed a friend. Perfect for fans of Sally Page, Ruth Hogan and Mike Gayle.

Buy Link: Amazon: https://geni.us/B0B1C5F659social

My Review:

Oh what a gorgeous book this is! I’ve been a fan Drew Davies’s books for a while now, and I was very much looking forward to reading this new one. I honestly think it’s his best yet, I just loved it so much.

There’s quite an arresting prologue, and then it settles into the story itself. I loved the unlikely friendship between Esther and Bruno, and I loved both of the characters.

There’s so much to this story, it touches on many topics such as loneliness, mental health, societal pressure, acceptance, aging and many more, but in a wonderfully sensitive and positive way. I won’t say too much about what Bruno is going through, for fear of spoiling the plot, but it’s heartbreaking that he feels the way he does. Esther is coming into her golden years, but she’s got so many regrets from the past that have prevented her from living in the present.

With some genuinely funny and light-hearted moments, this book manages to combine serious matters with some beautifully heart-warming elements.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, which I felt was perfect from start to finish. One of those books that you feel totally bereft when it has to come to an end. I’d really recommend this book, it’s just gorgeous.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Author Bio: 

Drew Davies was born in London and grew up in Whanganui, New Zealand. He attended the Unitec School of Performing Arts in Auckland and won a Playmarket New Zealand Young Playwright of the Year award in 2000. After a brief stint on a kiwi soap, he has worked in Search for the past 15 years. Drew’s other claim to fame is that Stephen Fry once called him droll. Either that, or he got his name wrong. He now lives in Wanstead, London.

https://www.instagram.com/drewdavieswriter/

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Drew Davies here: https://www.bookouture.com/drew-davies

Buy Link:  

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: