The House Sitter by Ellery Kane

I’m so pleased to be part of the tour today for this thrilling book. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Title: The House Sitter 

Author: Ellery Kane

Publication date: 14/06/22

Buy Link: https://geni.us/B09VPDY6TDsocial

Description: 

‘You’re just the girl I’ve been looking for,’ Iris told me, her blue eyes sparkling, when she offered me the job as her live-in helper. Little did she know, I thought the exact same about her. And she was wrong to trust me…

As I clean Iris’s large, old house in Pacific Heights, my boyfriend Seth works outside, tending to the lawn and fixing the broken gate. I can’t help but notice Iris’s steely eyes watching our every move. Does she know why we’re really here?

Most days we live in perfect harmony, but today Iris is confused. She thinks we moved in uninvited. I pass her a tablet from the medicine cabinet, knowing she’ll soon calm down and remember how lucky she is to have found us.

Later that night, the police arrive to find Iris’s perfect house turned upside down, the telephone lying on the floor, its cord severed. They walk through each room, calling out, but the house remains totally silent.

You will think you know what happened that night, but when the police discover something unexpected hidden amongst the wreckage in Iris’s bedroom, you’ll find you don’t know a thing.

This heart-stopping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, Minka Kent and Lucinda Berry. As soon as you start reading The House Sitter, you’ll be hooked!

My Review:

The blurb for this book is completely correct. You’ll think you know what happened on the fateful night, but nothing is as it seems in this very cleverly plotted book.

The story starts with the traumatic events of the night in question, and then the plot moves backwards and forwards between the before and the after. At first it seems like it’s a fairly straightforward one to figure out. But nothing is as it seems, and there are some truly spectacular plot twists.

The plot is pacey and very intriguing, and the characters are all very well developed. I did not like the “house sitters” one bit, and even less so as the book went on! Iris I was very fond of, but I didn’t really see her true colours until much later on. Maureen, the police officer, was my favourite, with a really interesting back story, and a tenacious need to get to the truth.

I just flew through the chapters of this book and really wanted to find out what had really happened on that night. The truth is gradually revealed before the very end, and I thought it was very well done.

All in all, a really tense and exciting thriller, and a complete page-turner. Highly recommended.

My Rating:

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Author Bio:

Forensic psychologist by day, novelist by night, Ellery Kane has been writing–professionally and creatively–for as long as she can remember. Just like many of her main characters, Ellery loves to ask why, which is the reason she became a psychologist in the first place. Real life really is stranger than fiction, and Ellery’s writing is often inspired by her day job. Evaluating violent criminals and treating trauma victims, she has gained a unique perspective on the past and its indelible influence on the individual. And she’s heard her fair share of real life thrillers.

Ellery lives in the San Francisco Bay Area of California, a picturesque setting that provides the backdrop for many of her novels. If you don’t find Ellery interviewing murderers behind prison walls or pecking away at her latest novel, she is probably at the gym landing a solid jab-cross to a punching bag; riding bicycles with her special someone; or enjoying a movie the old-fashioned way–at the theater with popcorn and Milk Duds.

Ellery was previously selected as one of ten semifinalists in the MasterClass James Patterson Co-Author Competition, and she recently signed a three book deal with Bookouture for her new Rockwell and Decker mystery thriller series. The first book is scheduled for release in 2020.

If you’d like to receive a notification when new books are released, please sign up for Ellery’s newsletter at ellerykane.com. Ellery also signs e-books on authorgraph.com.

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/TheLegacyBooks

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/ElleryKane

BOOKOUTURE EMAIL SIGN UP: https://www.bookouture.com/ellery-kane

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: