My Mother’s Gift by Steffanie Edward

I’m so pleased to tell you about this wonderful book today. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Book Description:

Can your heart belong somewhere that you’ve never called home?

When Erica gets a phone call to say her mother, Ione, is ill in St Lucia, she knows she must go to her. Though the island – the place of her mother’s birth – is somewhere that Erica has never seen as her homeland.

Even when the plane touches down in the tropical paradise, with its palm trees swaying in the island breeze, the sound of accents so like her mother’s own calling loud in the air, Erica doesn’t find herself wanting to stay a moment longer than she has to.

But stepping into her mother’s house, she is shocked by what she finds. Her mother’s memory is fading, her once-immaculate house is now dirty and messy, and she’s refusing help from anyone but family. And Erica knows she must stay with her, even though it means leaving everything else behind.

What she doesn’t know is that – even as her mother’s memories get worse – Ione still has a final gift for her daughter. Because the unspoken secrets of their past are about to emerge, changing everything Erica thought she knew about her mother, her home, and who she really is…

A captivating tale of grief, love, and what it means to find home, perfect for fans of Andrea Levy, Jojo Moyes and Amanda Prowse.

My Review:

This book just totally consumed me from start to finish.

Erica is in a really difficult position. She’s torn between two cultures, and she’s torn between wanting to do the right thing for her mum, and having her own life and responsibilities in England.

I think the author has done a marvellous job of handling such a sensitive topic in a way that although heart-breaking and poignant, is both realistic and respectful. Her depiction of the mother daughter relationship is so well done.

Above all else, this is a beautiful book to read. It’s emotional and very thought provoking and it’s so beautifully written. I couldn’t put it down and I think that it will stay in my heart and my mind for a long time to come.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Author Bio:

Steffanie Edward was born in St Lucia, brought up in London and now straddles between the two.

Anancy, Crick-crick and other Caribbean folk stories have been a part of her life since childhood. In her late teens she enjoyed reading Susan Howatch and books on slavery. Her absolute favourite reads have been Wild Seed by Octavia E Butler, and Woman At Point Zero by Naawal El Saadawi.

Her writing career started with short stories, five of which have been published. Her first attempt at writing a novel was over twenty years ago, whilst living and working in Abu Dhabi. That novel, Yvette, didn’t make it into print, but the main protagonist, Yvette, has muscled her way into Steffanie’s debut novel, This Other Island.

https://www.saedward.com/

Buy Link:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B09QL7J4RSsocial

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: