The Stepchild by Nicole Trope

I’m so pleased to be part of the tour today for this fabulous book. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Three-year-old Millie Everleigh disappears on a crisp winter’s day, and nothing is as it seems…

It’s the phone call every mother dreads.

I’m climbing into the car after a trip to the grocery store. As the engine starts, my phone rings. It’s my stepdaughter, Shelby, who is babysitting my three-year-old little girl Millie.

‘I only went upstairs for a second,’ she says through her sobs. ‘She’s gone.’

I race home to find my blue-eyed baby girl missing, and my heart ripped out of my chest.

When the police turn up, Shelby’s story starts to unravel. What is she hiding?

Then I get a message saying, ‘Your husband is not who you think he is.’ Could he be lying?

Suddenly, my family feel like strangers. Everyone has a secret – even me.

No one knows why I was late coming back from the store, and the guilt I’ve been feeling ever since…

Once the truth comes out, all of our lies exposed, will it be too late to save my precious child?

A pulse-pounding psychological thriller about family secrets, shocking pasts and the lies we tell ourselves in order to survive. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Liane Moriarty and The Wife Between Us.

My Review

This book had me totally gripped from start to finish.

Leslie goes to the supermarket, leaving her stepdaughter minding her three year old daughter, but she has gone missing. Right from the start, it’s clear that almost everyone is keeping a secret and it’s very hard to know who to trust. Even Leslie is hiding something, and I was really unsure about Shelby, who in spite of her age, is clearly also keeping secrets.

This tightly plotted, atmospheric novel had me completely held under its spell from the first page to the last. There’s a very impactful prologue and it had me worried for Millie’s safety, and really builds the sense of urgency to find her.

The book is told from several points of view and it’s not clear at first what role everyone will play in Millie’s disappearance. There are many twists and turns along the way until it all begins to come together, and I thought the ending was particularly fitting.

A book to totally devour, this one will have you reading late into the night. Really superb.

My Rating

Rating: 5 out of 5.

About the author

Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because-as her professor pointed out- ‘It’s not meant to be a story.’ She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters’ degree in Children’s Literature.

The idea for her first published novel, The Boy under the Table, was so scary that it took a year for her to find the courage to write the emotional story. She went on to publish a further five novels in Australia before joining Bookouture in 2019. She is a USA Today and Amazon bestseller in the USA, UK, AUS and CAN.

She lives in Sydney with her husband and three children.

Author social media

Facebook: @NicoleTrope

Twitter: @nicoletrope

Buy links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B09NNXBRYTsocial

Apple: http://ow.ly/Y64b50Hc3af

Kobo: http://ow.ly/eWLZ50Hc3aj

Google:http://ow.ly/LJju50Hc3ah

One thought on “The Stepchild by Nicole Trope

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: