The Mother’s Day Victory by Rosie Hendry

I’m delighted to be part of the tour today for this wonderful book. Thanks so much to Rachel’s Random Resources for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Can the Women on the Home Front protect their community in times of war?

Norfolk, 1940.
 As war rages on, sisters Prue and Thea, along with the wider community of Great Plumstead, are doing all they can to help the war effort, from running the mobile canteen for the Women’s Voluntary Service to organising clothing drives and collecting salvage.

When, Anna, a young German girl who fled her country, seeks refuge in the village, Thea opens up her home, Rookery House, and invites Anna into their growing family. But while many in the village welcome Anna with open arms, others are suspicious of the new arrival . . .

As the war intensifies and panic sweeps the country, Anna is taken by the government who fear she’s a spy. The women of Great Plumstead are already fighting their own battles on the Home Front, but will they come together in Anna’s time of need to keep the newest member of their community safe from war?

The Mother’s Day Victory is the perfect wartime family saga and the second novel in Rosie Hendry’s much-loved series, filled with heart-warming friendships, nostalgic community spirit and a courageous make-do-and-mend attitude. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Donna Douglas and Elaine Everest.

Purchase Link – https://amazon.co.uk/%20dp/B08NPTC394

My Review –

It’s actually difficult to put in words how much I absolutely loved this book. I really enjoyed the first book in this series and I hope there will be many more.

In this book we meet Anna, and she is welcomed into the wonderful community in Great Plumstead, and into Thea’s home.

Right from the start I was swept up into the story, and I was enthralled from beginning to end. Even though it is wartime, and such a difficult and often heart-breaking time, there is such a warmth and sense of congeniality infused throughout the pages that it makes for a comforting and uplifting read.

The characters are so authentic, and like old friends, and it’s very easy to get to know them all, and to care about what happens to them.

This book could be read as a standalone, as it does explain previous events, but I’d recommend that anyone who loves gorgeous historical fiction should read the two books in the series. You’re in for a treat if you do.

A book to savour and enjoy, I genuinely didn’t want it to end.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Author Bio – Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in North Norfolk with her husband and children. She writes uplifting, heart-warming historical fiction based on true events from our social history. Listening to her father’s tales of life during the Second World War sparked her interest in this period and she loves researching further, seeking out gems of real-life stories which inspire her writing.

Social Media Links – https://www.facebook.com/RosieHendrybooks

https://www.instagram.com/rosiehendryauthor/

2 thoughts on “The Mother’s Day Victory by Rosie Hendry

  1. Thank you so much for being part of The Mother’s Day Victory blog tour, Emma. I’m so happy that you enjoyed it – your wonderful review has brought tears to my eyes – in a good way! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: