The Birthday Party by Wendy Dranfield

I’m delighted to be part of the tour today for this superb book. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Book: The Birthday Party 

Author: Wendy Dranfield

 Pub Day: Jan 7th 2022 
Buy Link: https://geni.us/B09KJKY6LLsocial

About the Book: 

Charlotte waves at her mother across the crowded lawn. Little red boots on, cowboy hat crooked over her blonde pigtails, she’s been looking forward to this party for weeks. Moments later, she disappears without a trace…

Kathy Hamilton drives away from her sister-in-law’s pristine-white suburban house in Maple Falls certain she’s left her daughter in safe hands. On the hottest day of the year, a birthday is the perfect excuse to gather friends, family and neighbors around the pool for a barbecue. But when she returns hours later to find her little girl has vanished, her world shatters.

Nobody laughing and drinking in the garden that day saw anything unusual.

Kathy’s eldest daughter is anxious and hardly eating. Is she sick with worry for her sister, or hiding a terrible secret?

The phone rings and rings, but why can’t Kathy get hold of the babysitter?

And is she imagining it, or when her husband rushed from work to join the search, was he wearing a different shirt to the one she saw him leave the house in that morning?

As the temperature rises, and long-buried secrets begin to surface, it’s clear that even the most perfect families keep devastating secrets. But in a town as small as this, is there anyone you can trust?

A totally gripping and utterly addictive page-turner that will have you racing through and reeling at the twists. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Gone Girl and Teresa Driscoll, it will keep you up reading all night long!

My Review:

Wow, there’s so much to say to about this book! This is more than just a missing child book, there are so many twists and turns and interweaving complexities to the stories of the characters in this novel.

This was a first for me by this author, and I’ll certainly be seeking out her books in the future. This book had me totally consumed, and I just read it non-stop for hours.

It seems that everyone has a secret to hide in this book, some innocent, some not so, and everyone became a potential suspect in my mind as I read on.

At times shocking and brutal, this book pulls no punches and it’s a total rollercoaster of a read. Be warned that you won’t be able to put it down once it pulls you in, so make sure you set time aside for it! A total page-turner, completely addictive, a great thriller to start the new year with.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.


Author Bio:

Wendy is a former coroner’s assistant turned crime writer who lives in the UK with her husband and 3 cats.

Her first novel (The Girl Who Died) was longlisted for the Mslexia Novel Competition. Since then she has written two crime series – one follows Officer Dean Matheson on his quest to make detective, and the other is her current series which follows Detective Madison Harper as she tries to reclaim her life after spending six years in prison for a murder she didn’t commit.

As well as crime novels Wendy also has short stories published in various anthologies in the UK and the US, and she has been shortlisted and longlisted for various writing competitions.

Wendy’s social media:

Website: https://wendydranfield.co.uk/
Twitter: @WendyDranfield | https://twitter.com/WendyDranfield
Facebook: Wendy Dranfield Author | https://www.facebook.com/WendyDranfield1
Instagram: Wendy Dranfield Author | https://www.instagram.com/wendy_dranfield/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: