The New Family by Victoria Jenkins

I’m delighted to be part of the tour today for this gripping book. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Buy Links: 

Amazon: https://geni.us/B09H7MZ83Ysocial 

Apple: http://ow.ly/AMib50GhJtR 

Kobo: http://ow.ly/MpKn50GhJs6 

Google: http://ow.ly/n4du50GhJCS 

About the Book: 

Can you really trust the family next door?

Brooke is delighted when Oliver decides to rent her old family home with his three-year-old son Finley. Finally someone to bring happiness to the rundown house across the street. They seem like the perfect tenants, but Brooke is a little unnerved when they move in with just a single bag between them. Where are their belongings?

When Brooke asks Oliver about his past, he quickly changes the subject. Her best friend tells her to leave it, after all Brooke has been through enough trauma in her life. But Brooke can’t shake off the feeling that something isn’t right. Why aren’t her new tenants’ names listed anywhere online?

Then Brooke arrives home to find orange flames dancing in the upstairs windows. As her whole life goes up in smoke, she is convinced it wasn’t an accident. And when she finds Finley drawing a picture of an angry burning house with terror in his eyes, her blood runs cold. What is Finley so frightened of? And why does Oliver snatch the drawing away the moment he sees it?

Brooke is convinced Finley is in serious danger, but given her past, she’s not sure anyone will believe her. Is Brooke ready to face up to her own demons to save the little boy? And when the truth is finally revealed, who is really the one in danger?

The New Family is an addictive psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, perfect for fans of The Wife, The Silent Patient and Lisa Jewell.

My Review:

Well, what a clever and totally engrossing read this book is!

At first the pace is slow, but there’s an unsettling feeling of tension running throughout, and you just know that this is all going to come to a head somehow. The remote coastal setting provides the perfect atmospheric backdrop to this chilling plot.

The story is told from the point of view of two characters, Brooke and Christina, and with a slightly different timeline to each story. I had no idea how these two stories were going to intersect, and even though as the book progresses there are a few aspects that they have in common, it still doesn’t make sense. Then all of a sudden, about three quarters of the way in, wham! it all begins to come together in a twist that I absolutely didn’t see coming.

This book really kept me guessing, and after the first revelation, there was no putting it down. A really masterfully written thriller, it’s an absolute must-read for anyone who enjoys a totally gripping novel.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.


Author Bio and Social Media: 

Victoria Jenkins is an English tutor and former secondary school teacher from South Wales who has been writing for years and day-dreaming about becoming a ‘proper’ writer for the past decade. She have an MA in Creative and Media Writing from the University of Wales, Swansea, where she wrote a lot of poetry while planning a lot of plots she hoped she would once day write. Victoria lives in South Wales with her husband.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/victoriajenkinswriter/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/vicwritescrime

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/vicwritescrime/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: