The Marriage Lie by Ali Mercer

I’m so pleased to be part of the tour today for this gorgeous book. Thanks to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Publication Day:  28/05/21

Author:   Ali Mercer

Buy Links:       

Amazon:  https://geni.us/B08Y8JLVPQCover

Apple: http://ow.ly/brCe50DTSfl

Kobo: http://ow.ly/Qzkf50DTSdG

Google: http://ow.ly/iUQu50DTZao

Description:

My husband is asking me to do the impossible. But if I don’t do what he wants, he will tell our daughter everything…

Stella follows her handsome husband Rob to the beautifully laid-out table in the restaurant he’s chosen specially for her fortieth birthday lunch. As the waiter pops the champagne, Rob proposes a toast and their crystal glasses clink together in celebration. Stella knows how they must look to anyone watching. Two people very much in love, with the perfect marriage and the perfect life.

But Rob is about to drop a bombshell on Stella. He wants a divorce.

If she doesn’t give him exactly what he wants – the house, the money and full custody of fourteen-year-old Georgie – he will tell their precious daughter the one secret Stella has worked so hard to protect her from.

Stella has a choice to make. To fight for her daughter, there is only one person she can turn to for help. Someone she hasn’t spoken to in over a decade. If she doesn’t, Rob will win. But to do it means facing up to her biggest regret, and risks losing Georgie forever, once she learns the truth…

An absolutely heart-breaking and gripping novel about the price of keeping a secret. Fans of Amanda Prowse, Kate Hewitt and Susan Lewis will be gripped by this emotional family drama from the very first page.

My Review:

This book totally exceeded my expectations. I thought the story sounded fascinating, and I love this author, but I didn’t expect this book to get inside my head so much, and to be so atmospheric and so difficult to put down.

The timeline goes back and forth between the past and the present, and it’s clear that there’s a pretty big family secret that’s been hidden for a long time.

I liked Stella, and instantly disliked Rob, and I couldn’t understand how she could be so compliant with everything that he wanted, but as I got to know her better I could see a strength in her, and began to understand all that she had been through.

This is a book to totally get immersed in, and I found myself totally captivated by it. A really enjoyable read, but also an all-consuming one, with family drama, secrets and twists and turns. I completely devoured it.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Author Bio:

Ali decided she wanted to be a writer early on and wrote her first novel when she was at primary school. She did an English degree and spent her early twenties working in various jobs in journalism, including as a reporter for the showbusiness newspaper The Stage. She started writing fiction in earnest after getting married, moving out of London to the Oxfordshire market town of Abingdon and starting a family. She has two children, a daughter and a son who is autistic and was diagnosed when he was four years old.
Ali is fascinated by families, their myths and secrets, and the forces that hold them together, split them up and (sometimes) bring them back together again. She always travels with tissues and a book and has been known to cry over a good story, but is also a big fan of the hopeful ending.

Author Social Media Links:

For updates and pictures, follow Ali on Twitter (@AlisonLMercer) or Instagram (@alimercerwriter), or on her Facebook page (AliMercerwriter)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: