The Old Duck’s Club by Maddie Please

I’m so delighted to be part of the blog tour today for this gorgeous book. Thanks so much to Rachel’s Random Resources and Boldwood Books for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Sophia Gregory is fading away…
Recently split from her married lover and about to turn sixty, Sophia doesn’t recognise the old woman staring back at her in the mirror. Where has her life gone so wrong? How has it come to this? A quiet holiday in beautiful Rhodes is the perfect chance for her to find herself again.

Until she meets the Old Ducks!
Bold and brash, Juliette, Kim and Anita are three friends who are determined not to grow old gracefully – and they are Sophia’s worse nightmare! But when Sophia is made an honorary member of The Old Ducks’ Club, she begins to discover a new side to life. Dancing and drinking till dawn Sophia starts to shake off her grey, drab old life and finds the fun side to living again!

And when she meets her gorgeous Greek neighbour, Theo, she thinks that maybe, if she’s just a little braver, she can learn to spread her wings again….

It’s never too late to teach an Old Duck new tricks!

A rip-roaring, laugh out loud story about the importance of friendship and always, always having fun! Perfect for fans of Judy Leigh and Dee Macdonald.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/2P2uKDE

My Review:

What an absolute joy to read this novel is! I read it over a very chilly, rainy weekend and I found myself transported to the beautiful island of Rhodes through the pages of this book, it was just gorgeous.

There is so much to praise in this book. The characters just jump off the page, and I loved Sophia in particular.

The setting is obviously sublime, and the descriptions of Greek food are mouth-watering.

The “old ducks” themselves are hilarious and are proof that at any age you can still have fun and change your life.

A book full of humour, sunshine and hope, I found it so uplifting and joyous, as well as thought-provoking. Can’t recommend it highly enough.

My Rating:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Author Bio:
Maddie Please is the author of four bestselling romantic comedies, having had a career as a dentist and now lives in rural Devon where she enjoys box sets, red wine and Christmas. She will be taking a new direction in her writing for Boldwood with joyous tales of older women – the first of which The Old Ducks’ Club will be published in May 2021.

Social Media Links
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/maddieplease
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MaddiePlease1
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/maddieplease1/
Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/maddie-please

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: