Wedding Bells on Victory Street by Pam Howes

I’m delighted to be part of the tour today for this wonderful novel from one of my favourite authors. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

From Amazon bestseller Pam Howes comes a heartbreaking World War Two novel about a young woman trying to make the best of history’s darkest hour. Is a happy ever after impossible?

Liverpool, 1943. For Bella Rogers, life is looking up. She loves performing with The Bryant Sisters, the singing trio who have become the country’s sweethearts, putting a smile on the faces of the brave boys fighting the Nazis. But then tragedy strikes when a telegram arrives: Bella’s beloved father has been killed in France.

Unlike her poor Mam, Bella has someone to share her grief with. Her childhood love Bobby is home from the war. He lost a leg but she counts her blessings every day that he’s alive when so many young men haven’t made it back. Bella longs to give her heart to Bobby but she is hiding a secret that may change their lives forever. Will he still love her if she reveals the truth?

But when bombs screech down on Victory Street in the middle of the night, blowing houses apart, Bella may lose both the home she loves and the family who mean everything to her. With so much loss around her, will Bella be brave enough to snatch her chance of happiness? And when the war is finally over, will wedding bells ring out on Victory Street again?

An utterly unputdownable, heart-wrenching historical novel that will have you completely hooked from page one. You’ll lose yourself in this gorgeous wartime story of love, loss and family secrets. Perfect for fans of Wives of War, Nadine Dorries and Nancy Revell.

My Review:

I was so excited to be going back to Victory Street again! I was so taken with the last book in this series. I love books about this era, and this series is a little different, as the girls tour around the country singing.

So much has happened for the girls since they first became the Bryant Sisters. They’ve toured the country, entertaining the troops, but they have all known love and loss, and heartbreak in the difficult times of war.

Bella has been through a lot, but I was really hopeful that she would finally get her chance with Bobby, who she never stopped loving. The story also tells us about her mother’s life in the countryside, where she has been evacuated with the children.

There’s something about this book that just feels like being back with old friends again. No matter how long it’s been since reading the last one, it’s so easy to just slip back into the lives of all of those on Victory Street. The characters are so real, and as a reader, you will care about them all.

I was totally captivated by this wonderful book, and just enjoyed every minute of it. I’m really hoping for another one in the series soon. Can’t recommend it highly enough. Cancel everything, put your feet up, and just be absorbed in it.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Author Bio:

Pam is a retired interior designer, mum to three daughters, grandma to seven assorted grandchildren and roadie to her musician partner.

The inspiration for Pam’s first novel came from her teenage years, working in a record store, and hanging around with musicians who frequented the business. The first novel evolved into a series about a fictional band The Raiders. She is a fan of sixties music and it’s this love that compelled her to begin writing.

https://www.facebook.com/Pam-Howes-Books-260328010709267/

https://twitter.com/PamHowes1 Buy Links:
https://bit.ly/37qvtUO

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: