The Sunset Sisters by Cecilia Lyra

I’m so pleased to be part of the tour today for this amazing book. Thanks so much to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

Two sisters. A surprising inheritance. A summer that changes everything.
As children, half-sisters Cassie and Julie were nearly inseparable, bonded through happy, lazy summers playing barefoot in the surf and sleeping out on the porch of their grandmother’s Hamptons beach house. Though from wildly different backgrounds, each magical summer the girls were as close as only best friends, accomplices, sisters can be. But they haven’t spoken in nearly fifteen years—not since the funeral of Cassie’s mother—and now there is only resentment and painful memories between them.
Successful and self-contained, Cassie is shocked to learn the requirements of their Nana’s will—that she and Julie spend one final summer together in the Hamptons house in order to inherit. Cassie agrees reluctantly, she needs an excuse to leave Boston and give the growing rumors about her personal life a chance to die down.
And for Julie, who is discovering too late the cracks in her marriage, it is the chance to repair at least one damaged relationship. But for the two sisters to regain what they had, they will have to finally confront what happened the night Cassie lost her mother. With their Nana’s wisdom guiding the way, could this summer bring painful discoveries, and a new direction, for both sisters?

An emotional and riveting novel full of family drama and dark secrets. Perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner.

My Review:

I really loved this book so much. It’s one of those books that just draws you in right from the first page, and that you really don’t want to end.

The relationship between Cassie and Julie is a complicated one. The bond between sisters is a unique one, but in this case, there’s a lot more to it, because of their family situations, and because of family secrets.

It’s told from both of their points of view, alternating in each chapter, and it’s so easy to see how each can misinterpret the other, particularly with their lack of proper communication, and also to see how our perception of someone else’s life can be so different to the reality.

The setting is beautiful, but the palpable tension between the sisters leads to an atmosphere that’s at odds with the location.

Nana, in spite of not actually being there, is a strong presence in the novel, and you can feel her warmth and her love for Cassie and Julie.

It’s a real page-turner of a book, I really couldn’t put it down. Definitely a “cancel everything” one!

This is a very accomplished debut novel, hard to believe that it is actually a debut, it’s so beautifully written. I’m delighted that this is the first part of a series, as I can’t wait to read more.

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Author Bio:
Cecilia is an author with a reading addiction — a serious one. She is a lover of wine and all things chocolate, and the proud mother of Babaganoush, an English Bulldog. She is also a recovering lawyer, but asks that you do not hold that against her.
Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/37A7d2m

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: