When We Say Goodbye by Michelle Vernal

I’m delighted to be part of the blog tour today for this wonderful book. Thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

About the book:

Can you love when all seems lost?
Ellie Perkins life was right on track until her boyfriend Sam suffers a near-fatal car accident, leaving him in a coma and all their future plans in limbo.Desperately in need of something to fix, Ellie has to find a project and when her grandparents old house is put up for sale, she jumps at the chance. Because, like Ellie, the house is broken. And if she can fix the house, then surely, it’s just a matter of time before she and Sam are back on their path to happily-ever-after…
In life, when the worst happens how do you pick up the pieces?A heart-breaking story of love, loss and the path to forgiveness, perfect for fans of Faith Hogan and Amanda Prowse. To be read with tissues.

Purchase links:

https://books.apple.com/gb/book/when-we-say-goodbye/id1474917461
https://play.google.com/store/search?q=9781409195498&c=books
https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/when-we-say-goodbye

My Review:

It’s certainly true when it says in the book description “to be read with tissues”. It’s a heartbreaking story and very poignant, but there’s also many humourous moments and a central message of hope.

Above all else though, this is such an absorbing and relatable book. I really liked the central character, Ellie, and was so drawn into her story. It was nice to have New Zealand as the setting, sounds like a wonderful country.

The pace is suitably gentle, and the timeline flicks back occasionally to the past, to the early days of her relationship with Sam, which gives us a lovely insight into him.

Everything in this book, from the imagery and detail, to the dialogue and characters, transports you into their world, and it’s truly engrossing. I really enjoyed it. There’s so much depth to the characters.

A bittersweet tale, heartbreaking at times, but also life-affirming and hopeful. It will draw you in and hold you until the last page.

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Author Bio:

Michelle Vernal loves a happy ending. She lives with her husband and their two boys in the beautiful and resilient city of Christchurch, New Zealand. She’s partial to a glass of wine, loves a cheese scone, and has recently taken up yoga—a sight to behold indeed. She writes books that she hopes make you feel you are curled up with your best friend having a cosy chat.
Social Media Links –
https://www.michellevernalbooks.com/
https://www.facebook.com/michellevernalnovelist/

%d bloggers like this: