The Lost Daughter by Ali Mercer

I’m delighted to be part of the books-on-tour for this fabulous book today. Thanks to Bookoutoure for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07NPX3XYMSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2UZwwmU

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2I9ZDlT

Googleplay: http://ow.ly/MG3V30nI3hJ

Description:

If you think photos aren’t important… wait until they’re all you have left of your child.
Your life isn’t perfect, but you’re still happy. Your husband has stuck by you and he’s a good dad. Your daughter Becca makes your heart explode with love. And then, in the time it takes to say ‘bad mother’, there’s no longer a place for you in your own family. Your right to see your child has disappeared.
Life goes on in your house – family dinners, missing socks and evening baths – but you aren’t there anymore. Becca may be tucked up in bed in Rose Cottage, but she is as lost to you as if she had been snatched from under your nose.

Everyone knows you deserve this, for what you did. Except you’re starting to realise that things maybe aren’t how you thought they were, and your husband isn’t who you thought he was either. That the truths you’ve been so diligently punishing yourself for are built on sand, and the daughter you have lost has been unfairly taken from you. Wouldn’t that be more than any mother could bear?

A heart-wrenchingly emotional drama for fans of Lisa Wingate, Jill Childs and Jodi Picoult.

MY REVIEW:

This book totally hooked me and engrossed me. It’s so well written, the characters are so relatable and real, and the plot weaves its magic around the reader.

We meet Rachel, Becca’s mother, and all we know about her is that, somehow, her young daughter has become estranged to her. She alludes to the terrible thing that she has done, and the tightly woven plot twists and turns its way around, giving us snippets of the past events that led to this, but keeping us waiting to find out.

Along the way we meet others in a similar situation, and their stories are fascinating and poignant also. I grew very fond of her friend Viv in particular, and her wonderful son.

I liked Rachel as a character, and as the book progresses we get to know more about her, and to understand her better.

At the end, everything changes and secrets are revealed. The perfect plot twist.

A complex, poignant and captivating book, highly recommended.

MY RATING: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Ali decided she wanted to be a writer early on and wrote her first novel when she was at primary school. She did an English degree and spent her early twenties working in various jobs in journalism, including as a reporter for the showbusiness newspaper The Stage. She started writing fiction in earnest after getting married, moving out of London to the Oxfordshire market town of Abingdon and starting a family. She has two children, a daughter and a son who is autistic and was diagnosed when he was four years old.
Ali is fascinated by families, their myths and secrets, and the forces that hold them together, split them up and (sometimes) bring them back together again. She always travels with tissues and a book and has been known to cry over a good story, but is also a big fan of the hopeful ending.

Author Social Media Links:

For updates and pictures, follow Ali on Twitter (@AlisonLMercer) or Instagram (@alimercerwriter), or on her Facebook page (AliMercerwriter)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s