Her Closest Friend by Clare Boyd

I’m so delighted be able to tell you about this gripping book today, as part of the books-on-tour for Clare Boyd’s latest novel. Thanks to Bookouture for the copy of the book and invitation to be part of the tour.

BUY LINKS

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07N6HJQ2MSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2E665pM

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2DuDhWE

Googleplay: http://ow.ly/q8Q130nFNL2

Description:

Pop music blares from the radio. She sings drunkenly from the backseat. The thrash of windscreen wipers against the driving rain. The screech of tyres. A thud.

Naomi and I are best friends.

School runs, dog walks, a shoulder to cry on over a glass of wine, we’re inseparable.

But now my husband has walked out, I need her more than ever.

I know she will help me pick up the pieces.

Because she knows about the lie I told to protect her.

She knows how much I’ve sacrificed for this friendship.

And she’d never let anyone hurt me.

Would she?

This extraordinary page-turner will suck you in from the very first page and keep you gripped until the breathtaking finale. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before and Gone Girl will adore this twisted tale of toxic female friendship.

My Review:

This book is both hard to put down, and hard to do it justice in a review! It is simply addictive stuff.

The pace of the book is perfect, it builds the tension so slowly. Secrets from the past are gradually revealed, and you can tell that it’s building up to dramatic ending.

The descriptive passages are very real, it’s so easy to picture the scene, and makes it feel more like you’re living this, rather than reading it.

As the plot builds up to the end, I could feel the adrenaline building, and nothing was going to stop me finishing it.

The pace then dramatically speeds up, and the shocking ending grabs the reader.

A stunning, gripping and absorbing read. The perfect psychological thriller.

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Author Bio:

Clare lives with her husband and their two daughters in Surrey, where her little green shed at the bottom of the garden provides a haven for her writing life. Before becoming a writer, she enjoyed a career in television, as a researcher in documentaries and then as a script editor in drama at the BBC and Channel Four, where her love of storytelling took hold.

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/clareboydclark

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: