A Wedding at Mulberry Lane by Rosie Clarke

About the author

Rosie Clarke was born in Swindon, but moved to Ely in Cambridgeshire at the age of nine. She started writing in 1976, combining this with helping her husband run his antiques shop. In 2004, Rosie was the well-deserved winner of the RNA Romance Award and the Betty Neels Trophy. Rosie also writes as Anne Herries and Cathy Sharp. Find out more at her website: http://www.rosieclarke.co.uk

Book description

Love, marriage, birth, death and betrayal in the East End of London make up life in Mulberry Lane. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Cathy Sharp and Donna Douglas.

Maureen Jackson knew life as a trainee nurse wouldn’t be easy, but she didn’t expect her hospital to be badly bombed on her first shift. Plus Maureen still has her family and friends in Mulberry Lane to keep her busy – she’s needed as much there as she is by her patients.

Running the pub on the corner of Mulberry Lane, Peggy Ashley is used to taking in all sorts of waifs and strays. But the arrival of a dashing American captain has got tongues wagging about Mulberry Lane’s favourite landlady…

Janet Ashley’s husband is back from the frontline. Which is more than so many of the wives of Mulberry Lane. But her beloved Mike is a completely different man from the one she fell in love with – and what’s more he doesn’t remember her, or their young daughter. How do you cope when your darling husband is a virtual stranger?

As WW2 continues around them, the women of Mulberry Lane know that community spirit and friendship is the key to surviving the Blitz.

My Review:

When I was invited to take part in the blog tour for this book I decided to read the previous book in the series first, The Girls of Mulberry Lane, which I greatly enjoyed. So I was familiar with all the wonderful characters in this book before I started. It can, of course, be read as a stand-alone novel, but why not treat yourself and read both, they are excellent.

In this novel, the war is well and truly underway, and the strength of the women of Mulberry Lane comes to the fore.

These women are working women, coping with the stresses of living during wartime, looking after families, and the people in their community.

There is such a strong community spirit, everyone helps each other out and looks out for each other. People keep going during the tough times in the war.

It was great to catch up with Maureen, Peggy and Janet again. Times have changed for them all with the war. Maureen is training as a nurse, working hard, but loving the opportunity to do something worthwhile, but also trying to maintain a relationship with Rory.

Peggy is running the pub without her husband, trying to manage with the constant shortages, and trying to look out for her daughter Janet. Things have changed for her and her husband, and everything is different in wartime.

Janet’s husband is back from the war, but he has changed totally.

In all of this there is warmth, humour and kindness. These wonderful characters will draw you in and weave their fascinating stories.

I was left smiling at the end of the book, eagerly awaiting the next instalment!

A book to savour and enjoy, perfect for these winter evenings. Highly recommended.

MY RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2xDaPg4 Kobo: http://bit.ly/2z5f3hN iBooks: http://apple.co/2ggvR1F

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: